Stay Informed

Your voice is needed at various community events

Your Voice is Needed

If the current zoning of the two 18-hole golf courses is respected and preserved, then we will keep housing off the courses and preserve our dwindling green open space in Reston.

Because the current zoning as private recreational space (specifically as golf courses) is enshrined in the Reston Master Plan, any zoning change would require approval from the county Board of Supervisors, with input from the county planning commission.

The Reston Master Plan is set through 2020, but in the meantime, the new owner of Hidden Creek golf course, Wheelock Communities, could appeal directly to our county supervisor, Cathy Hudgins, for an out-of-turn plan amendment

You Can Take Action

  • Sign up for our newsletter to stay informed of new developments. 
  • Write to our representatives: Make your views known to our county supervisor, our county planning commission rep, and our county chair of the Board of Supervisors. It is probably most effective to keep a positive tone about what makes Reston special that you want to see preserved. County officials in the past have been supportive of preserving Reston’s two golf courses. At the end of your email, you should include your name and address. 

Hunter Mill Supervisor Cathy Hudgins – huntermill@fairfaxcounty.gov
Hunter Mill District Planning Commissioner John Carter – john.carter@fairfaxcounty.gov
Chairperson Sharon Bulova – chairman@fairfaxcounty.gov

If you live in a different district of Fairfax County, find your Supervisor’s email here. Your voice is also very important. 

  •  Write to County Staff. Be sure to include your name and address to be taken seriously. 

Be positive about what we need to preserve so Reston remains the special place that it is. State that you want NO housing allowed on the golf courses. The adversary is the developer, not these staffers who supported the zoning designation at Reston National Golf Course so well when it was under legal attack. 

Director of Planning & Zoning, Fred Selden – fred.selden@fairfaxcounty.gov
Director, Zoning Evaluation Division, Tracy Strunk – dpzzed@fairfaxcounty.gov
Senior Assistant County Attorney Laura Gori – laura.gori@fairfaxcounty.gov
Zoning Administrator Leslie Johnson – leslie.johnson@fairfaxcounty.gov

You can keep our elected Reston Association Board of Directors informed of your views by sending them a copy of what you’ve sent to county officials. They often advocate on our community’s behalf with the County.  CC them on emails you send to county officials at boardofdirectors@reston.org. Ask them to work towards Reston remaining a two golf course community.

Copy Rescue Reston also!  northcourse@rescuereston.org

Frequently Asked Questions

Subscribe to Newsletter

We will never rent, sell or share your information

Donate Via PayPal

Other Amount:
Subscribe Today

Subscribe Today

Join our mailing list and get the the latest news and happenings from Rescue Reston!!!

You have Successfully Subscribed!